I never thought 7600 people would come and sit and listen to a ventriloquist, let alone in the rain. But that is what happened at the Wisconsin State Fair Monday night. Jeff's comedy is a bit corny and definitely racist, but I guess that is okay because Jeff is not saying it, "Achmed" or "Peanut" or "Walter" is. Best joke of the night came when Walter asked Jeff if he was going to hell. Jeff say yes, to which Walter replied something like, "Well, we have to go through Kenosha anyway." He also asked the people is Wisconsin why the hell they live here. If your ass is just a little wet and you go outside in February your ass will be frozen shut. There were a lot of funny jokes, some that were a bit tired and old, but the show lasted an hour and 40 minutes and it sure didn't seem like it....so it must have been okay. He started off the show talking about how he got to this point. He showed very embarrassing pictures of him growing up. Many of them had to do with the fact that he had started his career when he was only in 7th grade and needed "head shots" with the "dummies." Since his parents would not pay for that, he used the school yearbook picture every year through high school to get new head shots. He then proceeded to tell jokes about the pictures. My favorite bit was Peanut making fun of how poorly the people who answer the phone at Chinese food establishments speak English. "Can I have some chop sticks" "No fok" Stuff like that...Racist...yes...okay because a puppet said it...I guess...funny...definitely.
30 Mayıs 2012 Çarşamba
ZZ Top review
This always happens during the fair. Right around the middle I get tired of writing these reviews. All I want to say is, ZZ Top played for about 3600 people, they liked it, it sounded good, they have a handful of good songs. Can I leave it at that? Nothing interesting happened, they are not interesting on stage. They didn't do a meet and greet. They do sound good, they all sing without help, they all play their own instruments without additional musicians.
After at Bennos Micro was a much more interesting event. We went down to see the end of the Brewer game. If you know the area there is the Micro on one side of the street and Budweiser on the other side. There was some heavy metal death cover band in the Bud, and we were watching the Brewer game at Bennos. There was a very good crowd out at the fair tonight, FYI. I'm glad that people are not scared to come to the fair, but I have to say that I have been told that black kids are planning to come down to the fair sometime this weekend and try and rush the gates and just break in. Who knows if it will happen, but what if it does? What do we do then? I say go buy a bunch of tear gas, tazers, and clubs. Bring every cop in from the state and arrest every single one of these human puke buckets....Anyway...The funny thing was that when the death metal band finished their set the bottom of the 10th was just starting. At Bennos we have a cable feed, Bud had a satalite feed. So we saw everything 2-3 seconds before Bud. It was so funny to be apart of. We would see something and react, then the 150 or so people watching at Bud would react. Great time at the Fair, Great time at Bennos again.
EAT at the fair...Took the family to the fair again..we had baked potatoes, various flavors of milk, cheese nuggets, grilled cheese, other stuff...then the cream puff. Drakes first time. He loved it. Dane ate half a one all by himself and wanted more. A good end to the fair for the boys. Still 5 more days of fun for me.
NEW security lives up to the hype...After Thursdays attack by human pukes, State Fair hired new security to check ID's. They make the same we make, can get a raise (something I have not gotten in 16 years) and no doubt the Fair is paying $15 or more per hour for their services. Here are a few thoughts. How high is the qualiyt going to be for security that had nothing to do the day you call them (a Friday in Milwaukee) and can work for 10 days. They literally bus these people in everyday, give them shirts to wear, and march them to a gate. Today one of them was doing such a great job that the police department had to tazer him twice and arrest him. I don't think I remember anyone from my crew getting arrested...yet we work for 16 plus years and get paid the same as someone working for 16 minutes. Hope things go well to end the fair...
Blake Shelton review
The only modern country show of the fair took place Wednesday night. I do not listen to country radio that much anymore, so I didn't know Blake had so many hell raising and drinking songs in his catalogue. The last time he was at the fair I remember a good show, but not much showmanship. Maybe being a judge on "the voice" taught him a little bit about all that. A few examples: He had a part of the show where he talked about how messed up he was because his family used to lock themselves in their rooms and blast music. He was just a toddler so he would sit in front of their doors and listen. First he would go to his parents room and sit next to their locked door. And yes he did insinuate why the door was locked. Then he played a verse of "Play that funky music white boy." Then he went to his brothers room where funny smelling smoke always came out and listened to his song (can't remember it). Finally he got to his sisters door. She was listening to the most God awful crap he had ever heard, so then he sang a verse of "My purgative." He said he hated himself for singing that song, then said that moment changed his life forever because he knew that he wanted to be in music, and it was going to be the exact opposite to that "crap." Later in the show he sat down to play some of his old slow songs. He said he was worried that no one would remember them because to many people he is a "new artist" after seeing him on "the voice." He said if the crowd didn't sing along once he started a song he would just start singing Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift songs. During this segment he did play my favorite Blake Shelton song, "Austin." In his set he played "Who are you when I'm not looking" "Hillbilly Bone" "Some Beach" "Playboys of the Southwestern World" and ended with "Ol Red." Even Miranda Lambert came out and sang a song with Blake near the end. Very entertaining show for the 7500 that came to the fair Wednesday night. The aftershow was much different than the last time he played at the Wisconsin State Fair. Last time he and James Otto went to Paulies and bought the whole bar round after round and got completely wasted. Last night "Mr. Miranda Lambet" and the misses were gone less than 30 minutes after the show. Well, he still pulled off the "party personna" on the stage even if it is becoming a little farther and farther away from reality.
Whitesnake review
I was ready to call this show "The A-hole Circus" in preparation of what I thought would happen backstage Thursday night at the Wisconsin State Fair. Instead I have to admit there were few problems. There were a few crazed fans that managed to be backstage for a few minutes, but were quickly kicked out. There was a big guy that had an old LA Guns laminate on who got back early in the day. Since we did not have our meeting yet to tell us what was allowed a laminate of the band sounds good. Problem is he is someone who was kicked out many times from backstage for their concerts. I was puzzled why the lead singer allowed him in their dressing room to take a beer, but after the very big manager saw that, he took care of business. Now, this could have been a time when the A-hole-ness started, but it didn't. He said he realized why that would happen and who that guy was. He didn't get back the rest of the night. The lead singer of Whitesnake was very nice and thankful for all that we did. The shows were not very good. I do not know one song from LA Guns. Skid Row has three songs I like, but they do not have Sebastian Bach anymore. Funny thing is this singer looks a lot different from the last one, so I asked one of the band members why they have a new lead singer again. He said this is the same one. I said, "No, you used to have a skinny blond haired guy" He responded, "Ya, that is the same guy, he just got fat." Anyway, David Coverdale has facial expressions that I didn't know where possible by a human face. He really can't sing much anymore, but he can grab his junk and have simulated sex with the microphone stand. I guess the 3000 people in the grandstand must have liked it, but I'm not sure why. Throw in that Whitesnake played about an hour 20 with about 20 minutes of that being guitar and drum solo, and you have a perfect storm for me to want to get out of there....which I couldn't because they had a "meet and greet" after. Not much of one when the lead singer is on a bus then minutes after the show. I was forced to sit there while nothing happened for a good 30 minutes, then another 30 minutes of people just wandering around talking to the band members who were left. The low point (and the point where the production manager said we could leave) was when the meet and greet broke out into a game a hacky-sack. Truly a new low. No one was a jerk or out of control, just bla. I guess that is the theme of the night, not bad,just bla.
The excitement of the day came when the Guinness Book of World Records certified that the State Fair made the Worlds Largest Cream Puff at 122 pounds. I took a picture looking like I was eating it..it was funny.
Oak Ridge Boys and Billy Dean review
A small but intelligent crowd attended the last music show at the 2011 Wisconsin State fair. Opener Billy Dean has the looks, the talent, the songs, but I guess is not a contestant on American Idol, so people don't give a crap. I challenge you to have young children and listen to the song, "Let them be Little" and not tear up. Tonight was a show of good ol' country music. Music that had a message and sounded good. Even today's country music is bubble gum pop. I stopped listening to country once that happened. I liked the story, the meaning to songs. That is gone now, and that is why you have in the music industry a flavor of the month. None of them will ever be big because they have no talent and no substance. There was threat of a storm so Billy Dean only sang 25 minutes and the "Boys" did a little under 1:30. The Oak Ridge Boys have been around for 30 years yet still sound great, have songs that are pleasing to the ears, hooks that I remember from 1982, and a genuine love of music. Even with a small crowd they played full speed, enjoyed themselves, and therefore the crowd enjoyed it all. Of course you had the hits like "American Made" and "Bobbie Sue." But when they sang "Elvira" there were hundreds of people lined up outside the stands trying to see in and take pictures. It is a real problem in all forms of music. No one will give a crap about anyone making music now in 30 years, who are we going to have coming to our State Fairs and music festivals? The next person who won a contest on TV or the internet? Give me good ol' fashion music any day.
Benno wins State Fair vendor of the Year...In a very close race, Benno once again won State Fair vendor of the year. Benno changed it up this year and talked trash about the other contestants, but it was all in fun. I love being at the fair so much. A thunderstorm rolled in, we listened to U2 Zoo play at the Bud, and drank inside the roof of the Micro.
The night ended with a run at Bar Louie. Very good time, fun to see good friends...xoxoxo
26 Mayıs 2012 Cumartesi
Wiz Khalifa - No Sleep :: Music Videos, Lyrics & Ringtone

'No Sleep'is another great new song by rapper Wiz Khalifa which is from the third single of his third studio album, 'Rolling Papers',released on March 29, 2011 by Atlantic Records and Rostrum Records. The track was produced by Benny Blanco and Noel 'Detail' Fisher and was released on March 23, 2011 on iTunes.
Send to Your Facebook Wall
Artist : Wiz Khalifa
Song Title : No Sleep
Wiz Khalifa - No Sleep Lyrics :
[Verse 1]
Last night I let the party get the best of me
Waking up in the morning: two hoes laying next to me
Plus I heard an officer arrested me
Good weed and cold drinks: that’s the motherf-cking recipe
Nigga and we roll deep, so deep
It’s going down in this bitch: concrete
We gon party all night: no sleep
Tell the owner them is all my guys
So tonight everything is on me
The drinks is on me
The bitches, the hotel, the weed is all free
Get high, I mean so high
We don’t see the whole suite
Then fly to a level where you gonna need your own key (TGOD)
[Hook x2]
No driving, no sleeping
Live it up like it’s the weekend
When the DJ play the right song
Gonna drink, gonna party all night long
[Verse 2]
Leaving from the club now she wanna stay with us
Came to spend it all, don’t care what I’m paying for
Used to be too young, now I’m out here buying the bar
Everytime I look up, it’s another red cup
Bunch of niggas in the game but they ain’t playing with us
They just paying enough
Man them niggas ain’t ballin they just laying it up
Saying they does, I’m just rolling hella weed up
while on my way to the club
I had to wait at the club
But now I don’t cause everything is on me
The drinks is on me
The bitches, the hotel, the weed is all free
Get high, I mean so high
We see the whole street
We fly, I mean so high
We need a whole wing (TGOD)
[Hook x2]
No driving, no sleeping
Live it up like it’s the weekend
When the DJ play the right song
Gonna drink, gonna party all night long
Party all day, party all night
Say you wanna party lets party alright
I, Party all day, party all night
Say you wanna party lets party alright
I, Party all day, party all night
Say you wanna party lets party alright
I, Party all day, party all night
Say you wanna party lets party alright
I..
[Hook x2]
No driving, no sleeping
Live it up like it’s the weekend
When the DJ play the right song
Gon’ drink, gon’ party all night long
Party all day, party all night
Say you wanna party, let’s party alright.
Josh Kelley - Georgia Clay :: Music Videos, Lyrics & Ringtone

'Georgia Clay' is the first single by American singer Josh Kelley, off of his seventh studio released via MCA Nashville on March 22, 2011. Kelley co-wrote the song with his brother, Charles Kelley of Lady Antebellum, and album producer Clint Lagerberg. Check out guys!
Send to Your Facebook Wall
Artist : Josh Kelley
Song Title : Georgia Clay
Josh Kelley - Georgia Clay Lyrics :
Ain’t it funny how some things take you back?
And the here and now just fades to black
When I pull that blue tarp off of that time machine
Man, it hits me
Seventeen years old running on dumb luck
Spent the whole damn summer
Living in that truck
Them old tires still covered in that mud
Like it sticks with me, in my blood
When life was nothing more than living for the night
Just trying to steal a kiss on a tailgate of that ride
Good old days don’t wash away
Just like that Georgia Clay
Only one of my friends with a Fake I.D.
It made the hometown celebrity
Used to put her in park in a vacant lot
And I still can’t believe we never got caught
When life was nothing more than living for the night
Just trying to steal a kiss on a tailgate of that ride
Good old days don’t wash away
Just like that Georgia clay
All over everything, every last memory
Man it’s all coming back to me…
Ain’t it funny how some things take you back?
When life was nothing more than living for the night
Just trying to steal a kiss on a tailgate of that ride
Good old days don’t wash away
Man, some things they just don’t change
Just like that Georgia clay
All over everything, every last memory,
It’s all coming back to me
Hugh Laurie - Guess I'm A Fool :: Music Videos, Lyrics & Ringtone

'Guess I'm A Fool' is a fresh new track by an English actor, voice artist, comedian, writer, musician, recording artist, and director, Hugh Laurie. It is expected to be included in his upcoming debut studio album 'Let Them Talk' and expected to hit stores on May 9th, 2011. He has played the lead as Dr. Gregory House, the protagonist of House, for which he received two Golden Globe awards and several Emmy nominations.
Send to Your Facebook Wall
Artist : Hugh Laurie
Song Title : Guess I'm A Fool
Hugh Laurie - Guess I'm A Fool Lyrics :
You told me you were leaving
After all we’ve been through
Guess I’m fool falling in love with you
There ain’t no use in crying
Do what you have to do
Guess I’m a fool falling in love with you.
[Chorus:]
You told me that the kind of love we have
Will last for a million years
I believe everything you said
You felt my heart with tears.
So long pretty baby
Go break some other heart in two
Guess I’m a fool falling in love with you.
[Chorus:]
You told me that the kind of love we have
Will last for a million years
I believe everything you said
You felt my heart with tears.
So long pretty baby
Go break some other heart in two
Guess I’m a fool falling in love with you.
Falling in love with you,
Falling in love with you
Falling, falling in love with you.
Katy B - Broken Record :: Misic Videos, Lyrics & Ringtone

'Broken Record' by British singer Katy B is a third single taken from her debut studio album, 'On a Mission', released on 4 April 2011 through Rinse and Columbia Records. The single was released on March 27 and has charted on the UK Singles Chart at number 8 on April 3, 2011. The song was written and produced by Geeneus & Zinc.
Send to Your Facebook Wall
Artist : Katy B
Song Title : Broken Record
Katy B - Broken Record Lyrics :
I would toss some time at night with your voice in my head
Like a broken record all the words you say
And when I finally fall asleep
You find your way into my dreams
But I would never mind, you see
Cuz I get to live my fantasy
[Chorus]
And I know though we’re made for mistakes
But you’re holding every breath I take
Feeling this is more insane
So please don’t let me go my baby
And I know though we’re made for mistakes
But you’re holding every breath I take
Feeling this is more insane
So please don’t let me go my baby
I try my best to get away from you so badly
Knowing that I’d give my heart to you so gladly
But then it came reality,
Every word of when she came to me
But now I gave myself to you
I’m so scared of what you’re gonna do
[Chorus]
And I know though we’re made for mistakes
But you’re holding every breath I take
Feeling this is more insane
So please don’t let me go my baby
And I know though we’re made for mistakes
But you’re holding every breath I take
Feeling this is more insane
So please don’t let me go my baby
[Bridge]
Keep your owns exactly where they are
I wanna be here
I wanna feel you
And I keep thoughts exactly where you are
I wanna be here
I wanna feel you
Like a broken record
Like a broken record
Like a broken record
Like a broken record
Like a broken record
Easton Corbin - I Can’t Love You Back :: Ringtone, Music Videos & Lyrics

I Can’t Love You Back is the third single by American country singer Easton Corbin, from his self-titled debut album, which was was released on March 2, 2010. The song debuted on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart for the week of March 22, 2011. The music video for the song was directed by Shaun Silva and premiered on Vevo and GAC in December 2010.
Send to Your Facebook Wall
Artist : Easton Corbin
Song Title : I Can’t Love You Back
Easton Corbin - I Can’t Love You Back Lyrics :
I can love you in the morning
I can love you all day
I can love you even more when I get home
I can love you every second
to the ends of the earth
Where needing you’s the only thing that’s on
my broken one track mind
(Chorus)
Girl, I love you crazy
It comes so easy, after all we had
I could love you with all my heart
But the hardest part is
I just can’t love you back
I could write a thousand letters
Call a hundred times a day
Or try to drown my sorrow at the bar
I could go down to the church
Get on my knees and pray
But it still won’t change the way things really are
Won’t bring you back again
(Chorus)
I can love you for all I’m worth
To the ends of the earth
But I just can’t love you back
23 Mayıs 2012 Çarşamba
Luke Bryan, 'Tailgates and Tanlines' Is Platinum!
"The main thing is stay true to who you are," Luke tells The Boot, reflecting on what he believes to be the secret ofTaligates' success. "When it happens unnaturally and when it's forced, it gets a little weird. You just make sure you love it and that it's the music that you want to be represented by. The rest is out of your hands. It's up to the fans and the people who buy the album."Continue reading Luke Bryan, 'Tailgates and Tanlines' Is Platinum!
The Band Perry, Kimberly Williams-Paisley Help Kick Off Walmart Anti-Hunger Campaign
Millions of Americans can help support this worthy cause either by buying participating products or visiting Walmart's Facebook page through April 30. Fans can vote on the Facebook page for one of 200 American communities that has been hardest hit by unemployment, and the winning town will receive $1 million to help combat hunger in that area. The next 20 communities will each receive $50,000 to help aid hunger relief in their areas, as well, through the Facebook initiative. The campaign also provides information on how users can donate or join local efforts to fight hunger in their own communities.Continue reading The Band Perry, Kimberly Williams-Paisley Help Kick Off Walmart Anti-Hunger Campaign
Thomas Rhett Tour Schedule Goes Into 'Overdrive'
The 22-year old, whose first single, "Something to Do With My Hands" is climbing the charts, has already learned the three things never to leave home without: "Clean underwear, clean socks and Twizzlers," Thomas tells The Boot.
He also learned the hard way that he should always travel with something warm. "We were playing in Illinois one night and we had to stop at a gas station," he says. "All I had was a T-shirt, so I bought this disgusting hoodie and that saved me for like four days from freezing!"Continue reading Thomas Rhett Tour Schedule Goes Into 'Overdrive'
Zac Brown's Camp Southern Ground Meets Kids' Special Needs
Of the dozen different entities, the one foremost in Zac's mind is Camp Southern Ground, a non-profit camp south of Atlanta for, as Zac describes it, kids who are "mainstream, underprivileged and with developmental disorders."
"We'll have an organic farm there, straight farm-to-table," says the singer and band leader, who is also an accomplished chef. "The kids will be able to eat what they pull up from out the ground that day. It's a big project, a big undertaking."Continue reading Zac Brown's Camp Southern Ground Meets Kids' Special Needs
Zac Brown Band, 'Uncaged' Release Date Revealed
"It's your basic country-Southern rock-bluegrass-reggae-jam record," Brown joked.
"Uncaged" is out July 10 and Brown says its 11 tracks further push the boundaries of what fans can expect from the Atlanta-based band.
Brown wanted to keep most of the surprises on the band's follow-up to 2010's "You Get What You Give" under wraps in a Tuesday afternoon phone interview.Continue reading Zac Brown Band, 'Uncaged' Release Date Revealed
17 Mayıs 2012 Perşembe
Music Monday: What's your favorite soundtrack?
![]() |
| photo via |
(I've Had) The Time of My Life - Bill Medley & Jennifer WarnesBe My Baby - The RonettesWill You Love Me Tomorrow - The ShirellesThese Arms of Mine - Otis Redding Do You Love Me - The ContoursBig Girls Don't Cry - Frankie Valli & The Four SeasonsWhere Are You Tonight - Tom JohnstonLove is Strange - Mickey & SylviaLove Man - Otis ReddingWipeout - The SurfarisHey! Baby - Bruce ChannelYes - Merry ClaytonDe Todo Un Poco - Michael Lloyd & Le DiscIn the Still of the Night - The Five SatinsHungry Eyes - Eric Carmen
Don't these songs bring up such good memories of the film? What is your favorite movie soundtrack?
On giving him a second chance.
![]() |
| photo via |
I feel like I have to 'save' the people I love: if something happens to them, I need to make things better. If they are stuck in a rough spot, it's MY responsibility to get them out. I know that it shouldn't be that way. But it's how I feel. It's a habit I need to break. You can't change someone.
I'm not saying that people don't change.
In the past, I was set in stone on the idea that people could never change. But since then, I've seen proof firsthand that they can. Unfortunately, something major has to happen in order for a person to realize that something needs to change. Something has to scare them, frighten them, really. Something important has to be put on the line. Or if they're really blind, the consequences have to be painted out in black and white. But if they are supposed to make the change, they will. Sooner or later, it WILL happen. And it's your choice if you're going to stick around and wait for the results, if any.
A few months ago, I took a leap of faith. My heart was on the line; I was a mess inside and out. I really cared about someone, but he was one of those people that just wasn't changing. It was frustrating; it hurt. I felt like I wasn't worth the effort. And although I tried and I tried to make him change, to make things right, it just wasn't working. No progress was happening. But as soon as I backed off and let him be, he woke up, so to speak. And the loss and confusion hit him hard.
People question my decision to this day. Why wait around on someone that has hurt you? People don't change, and if he didn't change before for you, why would he now?
What they DON'T see is that I never asked him to change for me. What he was doing was only hurting himself. I couldn't change what he was doing, he had to want it for himself. Maybe I helped move the process along by disappearing. But when he made that change for himself, when he made his life better, I only cared about him more. He was doing what he needed to do, not what he should do, and I respect him for making that choice. That's why I feel comfortable being with someone who yes, has hurt me. Sure, things were tough before. But if someone is willing to make amends, try harder, and give 110%, maybe they do deserve a second chance. I stand by my decision. If you cannot respect my personal decision, please do not comment. It has nothing to do with you and it never will. But I am a grown woman and I know what is best for me. If it all goes to hell within time? We simply weren't meant to be. I made this choice consciously, and I am going to follow through with it with everything I have in me.
I'm starting to learn more about change. It's terrifying, it's intimidating, it's difficult sometimes. But change doesn't always have to be bad. Sometimes it's exactly what you need.
Friday Flicks: THE AVENGERS Nerd Rant
![]() |
| photo via |
![]() |
| You jelly? |
This movie is hilarious. While I love the characters they play, the actors themselves are brilliant together. They all just seem to glow, and I laughed til I cried. I genuinely adore these characters and they just happened to have damn funny things to say.
After all, who doesn't love a superhero? Anyone who doesn't have even a slight interest in superheroes is a liar. They are some of the most fascinating "people" that we "know." We all admire something in them and they are all human enough that we can somehow relate to each one of them. Whether we're cocky, dorky, brainy, or strong, we can relate to superheroes, we respect them, and therefore, we will always love them. So thank you Avengers, for keeping the nerdy girl alive and well within me.
Oh yeah, our emo phase.
![]() |
| Yep, that was me. |
Fall Out Boy's "Sugar We're Going Down" came on the radio today, and I couldn't help but smile. My freshman year of high school, Fall Out Boy took the nation by storm. Sure, they weren't great, but we loved them just the same. It was the year of skinny jeans, too much eyeliner, and band t-shirts. It was the year of super straight hair and black Converse shoes. Because of this phase we went through, I met someone who would be one of my best friends when she burned me a Fall Out Boy mix CD. Our friendship was, and is still strong, but oh how silly we looked.
It was the emo phase, and everyone in high school at that time went through it, even if just for a moment. Even if it just meant picking up a Panic! At the Disco album, we all joined in. We thought we were cool; we were just silly. But we have the photos and buried CDs in the back of our closets to prove it.
I'm glad that phase hasn't returned. No more "scene" styles and "emo" haircuts. It may come back sometime far in the future, maybe our kids will bring it back. But for now let's just smile and feel relieved that we no longer think Pete Wentz is "like, the greatest musician ever." We were impressionable and naive, we were young. Even though we may have moved on, we still have a soft spot for that time in our youth, and that one song that still makes us smile every time.
Music Monday: Summer 2012 is Creepin' In....the Playlist
![]() |
| photo via |
13 Mayıs 2012 Pazar
Paramore - Careful
"Careful" was written by Hayley Williams and Josh Farro. Again, as most bands do, they wrote their own song, and are easily capable of connecting to the song and flooding it with emotion. It charted highest in Portugal, but still with a low chart rating. As for the UK it got to number 108, but at least it charted.
The music video is a compilation of tour performances, with Hayley having many different hair colours. This is the third tour compilation music video they have done, the first two being "All We Know" and "Hallelujah". So they have created a compilation video for each of their 3 albums, which is clever. But will they do it again in the future? I hope not.
The footage was taken from many different tours, including the Brisbane Soundwave Tour, their 2010 Spring Tour, 2009 Fall Tour and a one-off performance at Festival Hall in Australia amongst other performances. There are also many backstage clips edited in intricately, and I don't think anyone could have done a better job.
There really isn't much else to say, I like how you can feel the vibes that the audience is getting from this band. You certainly get a perfect performance. The song is great also, and when I first heard it on the album, I knew it'd be a single. Cannot wait to see what new sound they make with the absence of the Farro brothers.
Aaron Carter - I Want Candy
Me, CamCam and a few others decided to watch "Hop" today, and this song is on there, but actually sung by Cody Simpson (who never released a music video). So I was thinking of all the artists who had sung this song, and I came up with Aaron Carter and Melanie C (the latter being not so interesting, and didn't do very well here in the UK). So I chose Aaron Carter, as I remember watching it when I was young.
Aaron Carter was really well-known when he was younger, and was getting many chart hits, but he soon faded out, as many artists from that era do. Recently he went on "Dancing With The Stars" and did pretty well getting to finish in fifth place. So now he has become popular once again, is a new album going to appear? We'll have to wait and see.
"I Want Candy" original version is back in 1965 and performed by "The Strangeloves", it was written by Bert Berns, Bob Feldman, Jerry Goldstein and Richard Gottehrer. The song has been covered many times by many different people including: Bow Wow Wow, Candy Girls, Melanie C, Billie Piper, and Jedward amongst others. I was just really surprised it was first released in 1965.
This music video is hilarious to be honest, they all look so very young. Aaron Carter was in fact 12 when the song was released. It paints a picture of him liking a girl called "Candy" and they go out on dates, but his friends always shows up and ruins it. He's forever saying sorry.
My question is: is "Candy" boring? She doesn't get into the popcorn fight, she doesn't enjoy anything until the very end... It just doesn't exactly work and doesn't link in that well.
I'm surprised this is all I have to say, but at the end of the day, I think Aaron Carter was too young at that time to actually understand what the song was about, it certainly wasn't about a girl's name, and Cody Simpson is wrong too that it's not about Candy/Chocolate...
Overall a very big story-based music video that just isn't that interesting, it's a typical young music video, that has been done many times over. It looks like Aaron Carter will be returning in the future (he is now 24), and I very much doubt he'll be going down this route again.
Pink - Get The Party Started
I had a lot of choice this week for my Sunday revisit so I was quite surprised and stuck for choice. I decided on Pink purely because I haven't reviewed many music videos from her on this blog. I have only done "F**kin' Perfect", which is what I did this week. Pink's real name is Alecia Moore, and she has been going for a number of years. She is creating a new album as I currently type this, so I cannot wait to see what she has in store for us.
"Get This Party Started" was written by Linda Perry, who also appears at the bar in this music video. She has been mentioned on this blog once before hand, as she also wrote Christina Aguilera's "Beautiful". This song fits Pink down to a T, and it was the song that made me aware of who she was. And I don't think I was the only one. The song got to number 2 here in the UK, just missing out on the top spot. But it'll always be a top hit to me.
This music video is probably one of the best I've seen during that time of 2001, it kind of reminds me of Britney Spears' "...Baby One More Time", purely because it's so narrative and story based that they both tell a story similar to the lyrics.
There's a few things I like about this music video, but the main thing is the house right at the start, it's very bright and different, and I just love it, I want that house! The skateboarding is pretty clever, and I always laugh when she falls over. I like how they show tribute to the 9/11 attacks which happened just days earlier. I also like how she swaps outfits in the club. If spinning around changed your outfit, everyone would be doing that.
There are a few niggling bits, such as how she ditches her friend to go and dance. The fact that they steel the skateboards in exchange for a kiss, but at the end of the day it's still wrong. I would've preferred her to take them out from the back of the car. And the fact that it isn't the full song either, it's a clipped version.
There are a few famous faces, such as Linda Perry, she is one of the people at the bar, some people say she's the bar woman, whereas others say it's the girl Pink kind of rivals... I'm not too sure. Kevin Federline (who went on to marry and divorce Britney) and Georvohn Lambert who became a dancer for other artists. There are probably a few more, if you spot them tell me below and I'll add them.
Overall a top-notch music video that although has it's faults, are understandable, shame this never became a number one, but it's good no matter what. Pink has recently gone down the route of being happy with who you are. And I hope she keeps with that route for her next album, as it will definitely get people talking, and hopefully get a few chart toppers.
New Release: Twin Atlantic - Make A Beast Of Myself
Twin Atlantic is a Scottish rock band who I have been aware of for a couple of years, they're the sort of band that sometimes I like and then sometimes I don't. They consist of Sam McTrusty, Barry McKenna, Ross McNae and Craig Kneale. The band can be frequently found on rock music channels, and I have a feeling they'll produce a song that will get people talking.
A lot of people are unsure of the song's meaning, and guess what, the music video is just as confusing, so at least it's relatable right? After reading through the lyrics a few times, I'm came up with this theory that could be TOTALLY wrong, but it looks like something's making him spiral out of control, he sings about a bottle (so possibly alcohol), and that there is this one person out there that could be his antidote, or maybe it's locked in a bottle out there...
Basing on the theory I just came up with, the music video relates to a significant extent. His life is basically not doing well at all, things could be going wrong. And to make matters worse, he becomes involved in a car crash, possibly drink driving? Especially since he walks over to the pavement clumsily and falls over.
Everyone is avoiding him as he walks the streets, but are we supposed to imagine he is in the car, or he is driving an invisible car? There are a lot of running away and fake screaming and fake scared looks, the extras are so rubbish that it's funny, and puts all serious context out of the window.
Overall I love it as it has a big serious side that relates to the theory I think the song is about. But I would've preferred it to be kept serious, with the extras to actually be much better, it kind of makes the video look bad. Beforehand I had never caught the whole video, but now I have, and for people to truly understand it a bit more, they ought to watch it all.
Cover Drive - Sparks
This music video is lacking somewhat, it's quite similar to "Twilight", which is quite disappointing. This could easily be a music video for "Twilight" and I just hope that their next single, they'll pull something better out.
So what shall I comment on? The fact that Amanda looks pretty in the video? The fact that I like how they've included T-Ray's voice as well? I just don't know where to even start.
Do they attempt to make a narrative piece? It kind of looks like it, from where Amanda is left on her own after a performance piece and everyone else is talking, so she walks off... It feels like it's separate as if they may have been planning on making a storyline, but it didn't work out... Besides, I would've included myself within the conversation, and just barged in.
Overall I'm pretty disappointed, this could be "Twilight" all over again, and I hope they manage to create different videos in the future. No matter what their videos are like, they will always do well on the chart, and I'm interested in what new singles they will be releasing.
New Release: Tulisa - Young
Tulisa Contostavlos used to be in a band called N-Dubz, they have recently split with Dappy, also going solo. For those of you unaware, Tulisa and Dappy are cousins and share the same last name. As for the third person in the group, it is Fazer who used to be Tulisa's boyfriend and who is writing songs for quite a few artists. Tulisa recently won the X Factor UK with her act: Little Mix, and she has been confirmed as one of a few returning judges. As for what the future might bring... It looks extremely bright for this person, she is going to reach the top pretty soon.
"Young", previously called We Are Young, is released this week, and it's off to a flying start and currently number one on the UK iTunes chart, but with big competition from Carly Rae Jepsen's "Call Me Maybe", which has been number one for the past 4 weeks, can Tulisa stay up there? There is also competition from Fun. Featuring Janelle Monáe "We Are Young" and Cover Drive's "Sparks", it's definitely going to be a chart you do not want to miss. The song was released just after her sex tape got released. This got everyone thinking it was a PR stunt since one of the lyrics in this song is "I make mistakes that I learn from". However it wasn't a PR stunt and merely a coincidence. The sex tape also features MC Ultra.
The music video relates really well with the song, it's all about having fun and enjoying your life no matter what, even if mistakes happen you learn from them as you are young and at the end of the day there's nothing you can do about it.
There's a lot to like about this music video, the fact that Tulisa looks sexy and strong at the same time. There's the start when her bags get left behind, but at the end of the day it wouldn't fit in that car. I like how they take that card from the cleaning lady, which get's them into the best hotel room... I also love the goat, it's so adorable, but also the fact that she wrecks that beautiful artistic black paper! What am I talking about? She made it better. But what makes that scene is the footage just before she writes "The Female Boss AKA Tulisa x" as she makes the "shh" sign and she has shifty eyes too.
This music video and song reminds me a lot of Cascada's "Summer Of Love". There are also a few look-a-likes, such as at the start the old guy looks like Harry Redknapp, didn't really notice him until a YouTube commenter mentioned it. And I also think one of Tulisa's friends looks like Kirk Norcross. There may be a few more, any suggestions, comment below!
Overall a great catchy song, but quite a bit of competition for number one, can Tulisa do it? As for the accompanying music video I haven't got a bad thing to say about it, it's funny, great and FUN. I can't think of a single thing that's not good, and therefore this rating is clearly deserved.
Jessie J Featuring David Guetta - Laserlight
"Laserlight" was written by Jessica Cornish, The Invisible Men, David Guetta, Giorgio Tuinfort and Frédéric Riesterer. Unfortunately David Guetta doesn't pop up in this music video, which is unusual as he does tend to pop up here and there a lot of the time. This is definitely an amazing collaboration. My favourite bit of the song is when she sings "D-D-D-D-David G", referencing David Guetta in her signature lyrics of: "J-J-J-Jessie J".
The music video kind of reminds me of "Domino", purely because it is more of a performance piece rather than anything else. However at least this one shows off her real hair, and is probably a little more intriguing. I can definitely say I have more to talk about.
After hearing the title of the song, you are prepared for laser lights to appear in the music video, and they're definitely there. Not only that but Jessie J is trying to be sexy, and I'm not quite sure if it works. It works for me, but others think she is trying too hard, and she doesn't need it all. I like the different places she seems to be in, but I have to admit it is still a normal average video that isn't that much of an improvement to Domino. Why is it that great songs end up having not so good accompanying music videos?
Overall I love the song, and can see it charting pretty high... But the music video is her second disappointing one in a row, let's hope she doesn't make it three in a row. Narrative music videos tend to be a lot better, and I certainly prefer them. As much as I like Jessie J, I hate to give this video this rating, but I don't think it's worth much more.





